Three new Killam Chairs announced at Dalhousie


Three new Izaak Walton Killam Memorial Chairs at Dalhousie University, commencing July 1, 2016 have been announced. The Killam Chairs are awarded to academics of the highest distinction at Dalhousie, with appointments of up to five years. This year three outstanding researchers have been appointed: Dr. Vasantha Rupasinghe, Faculty of Agriculture; Dr. Roy Duncan, Faculty of Medicine; and Dr. Jeffrey Hutchings, Faculty of Science.

Vasantha Rupasinghe
Dr. Rupasinghe, Killam Chair in Functional Foods and Nutraceuticals, is an Associate Professor in the Department of Environmental Sciences with a cross appointment in the Department of Pathology, Faculty of Medicine. He holds a Tier II CRC in Fruit Bioactives and Bioproducts until June 30, 2016. Dr. Rupasinghe has made significant contributions to teaching, learning, and research and his publications, contributions and service records are exemplary. 

Roy Duncan
Dr. Duncan, Killam Chair in Virology, is a Professor in the Department of Microbiology and Immunology, with cross appointments in the Department of Pediatrics and the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology.  In 2005 he was awarded a seven year CIHR Foundation Grant, the only one in the Atlantic region and in 2012, he was awarded a University Research Professorship, granted to a limited number of Dalhousie faculty members who have achieved distinction in scholarship.  

Jeffrey Hutchings
Dr. Hutchings, Killam Chair in Fish, Fisheries and Oceans is a Professor in the Department of Biology, held a Tier II Canada Research Chair from 2002-2012, which is the maximum allowable term. Currently, Dr. Hutchings is a Killam Professor and has been elected as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada.  He has published over 200 papers, and has been invited to address numerous Canadian Parliamentary Committees, such as the Senate Standing Committee on Fisheries and Oceans.