Killam Trustees

Under the Last Will and Testament of the late Dorothy J. Killam, four Trustees are in office at any one time. The four original Trustees, all now deceased, were: Donald N. Byers, QC, Managing Trustee and Mrs. Killam's personal solicitor; Conrad F. Harrington, Chairman of the Royal Trust Company; G. Arnold R. Hart, President of Bank of Montreal; and Major General the Hon. E.C. ("Johnny") Plow, Lieutenant Governor of Nova Scotia. 

The Trustees presently in office are: 

The Honourable Kevin G. Lynch, PC, OC, PhD, LLD, Toronto 

The Honourable Kevin Lynch has been Vice Chairman of BMO Financial Group since 2010.  Prior to that, he was a distinguished former public servant with 33 years of service with the Government of Canada, serving as Clerk of the Privy Council, Secretary to the Cabinet, Deputy Minister of Finance, Deputy Minister of Industry as well as Executive Director for Canada at the International Monetary Fund. 

Dr. Lynch is the past Chancellor of the University of King’s College, the past Chair of the Board of Governors of the University of Waterloo, a Senior Fellow of Massey College and a Trustee of the Killam Trusts.  Since retiring from government, he has written over 140 policy Op Ed’s and articles and speaks frequently at conferences in Canada and abroad.

Dr. Lynch chairs the Board of Directors of SNC Lavalin and is a director of CN Railway and CNOOC Limited.  As well, Dr. Lynch is a Director of Communitech, the Governor General’s Rideau Hall Foundation and the Asia Pacific Foundation of Canada as well as a Member of the Expert Advisory Group on Digitization and Innovation at the OECD and a Member of the WEF Committee on “Balancing Financial Stability, Innovation and Economic Growth”.

Previously, Dr. Lynch served on the boards of the Ditchley Foundation of Canada (Chair), the Accounting Standards Oversight Council (ASOC), the Ontario Rhodes Scholarship Selection Committee, the Princess Margaret Hospital Foundation, the Gairdner Foundation, the Perimeter Institute, the Bank of Canada, Empire (Sobeys), Canadian Deposit Insurance Corporation (CDIC), the Business Development Bank of Canada (BDC), BMO China and the Cape Breton Development Corporation.

Dr. Lynch earned his BA from Mount Allison University, a Masters in Economics from the University of Manchester and a doctorate in Economics from McMaster University. He was made a Member of the Queen’s Privy Council for Canada in 2009, was appointed an Officer of the Order of Canada in 2011, has received 11 honorary doctorates from Canadian Universities and was awarded the Queen’s Golden and Diamond Jubilee Medals for public service. 

John S. Montalbano, CFA, Vancouver ~ Principal, Tower Beach Capital

John Montalbano built his career in asset management at Phillips, Hager & North Investment Management Ltd. (PH&N). Throughout, he assumed successive leadership roles until his appointment as President in 2005. In 2008, when RBC acquired PH&N, John became CEO of RBC’s newly expanded asset management business, known as RBC Global Asset Management (RBC GAM). By 2015, when he retired as CEO, the organization had extended its scope to include offices in Canada, the United States, the United Kingdom and Hong Kong, managing in aggregate more than $370 billion worldwide. As Vice Chairman of Wealth Management, John focused on business development and special projects, in particular with respect to merger and acquisition opportunities for RBC GAM. In 2017, John was appointed as a Director of the Canada Pension Plan Investment Board and the Asia Pacific Foundation of Canada.

John served as Chair of the UBC Board of Governors and remains a strong supporter of the UBC Sauder School of Business, where he and his wife, Dana, established the Montalbano Professorship in Leadership Studies. They have also established several fellowships at the University of Victoria in Ocean and Earth Sciences. As a trustee of the Killam Trusts, he also serves as a member of the Investment Committee for the Canada Council for the Arts. In 2015, John was appointed Chair for the Vancouver Public Library Capital Campaign and currently serves on the Boards of Junior Achievement British Columbia, St. Paul’s Hospital Foundation and the Vancouver Police Foundation.

John holds a Chartered Financial Analyst designation and a Bachelor of Commerce, with Honours, from the University of British Columbia. He is a Leslie Wong Fellow of the UBC Portfolio Management Foundation and also holds an Honorary Doctor of Letters from Emily Carr University of Art and Design.

 Jim Dinning, CM, F.ICD, LLD, Calgary   

With broad, multi-sectoral experience, Jim Dinning is an accomplished business executive and former politician. He serves as Chair of Russel Metals Inc and The Western Investment Company of Canada Ltd, both TSX-listed companies. Mr. Dinning is Chair of Heritage Royalty’s Advisory Board, an OTPP-owned entity. For the last six years, he has served as the lead faculty member of the Max Bell Public Policy Training Institute.

Mr. Dinning was Chancellor of the University of Calgary from 2010 to 2014 and was honored with the Chancellor Emeritus designation as he completed his four-year term. In 2015, Mr. Dinning was appointed a Member of the Order of Canada and was named a Fellow of the Institute of Corporate Directors in 2016..

Bernard F. Miller, QC, Halifax ~ Managing Trustee
Bernie Miller is the Managing Trustee of the Killam Trusts. During his 30-year career, Mr. Miller has been a lawyer, Chief Executive Officer and Senior Public Servant. 

Mr. Miller is currently in public service as the Deputy Minister, Office of Strategy Management, Deputy Minister of Business for Nova Scotia. Mr. Miller was appointed to Nova Scotia’s Office of Strategy Management in October 2017 and Deputy Minister of Business in January 2018. 

From 2006 to 2013, he was the Managing Partner/CEO of McInnes Cooper, one of the 20 largest law firms in Canada with offices throughout Atlantic Canada and had overall responsibility for strategic planning and operational leadership of the firm. In 1997, Bernie established the firm’s first New Brunswick office. Bernie practiced business law with a focus on aboriginal, environmental, energy, natural resources and real estate law. He was instrumental in developing the firm’s regional environmental law practice. While in private practice Bernie was recognized by Chambers and Partners Global as a leading lawyer in environmental law in Canada and featured in Lexpert, Best Lawyers in Canada, Practical Law Company and Who’s Who Legal as a leading lawyer in business, energy, aboriginal and environmental law. Prior to entering the public service he served as corporate secretary of Twin Rivers Paper Company of Madawaska, Maine and Edmundston, New Brunswick.

Bernie served as a member of the Canadian Centre for Environmental Arbitration and Mediation, the Canadian Bar Association, the Nova Scotia’s Barristers’ Society and the New Brunswick Law Society. He is an Institute-certified Director with the Institute of Corporate Directors from the Rotman School of Management and served on the Atlantic Provinces Economic Council Board of Governors and on the Nature Conservancy of Canada, Atlantic Regional Board. He also was on the Advisory Board of the 4Front Atlantic Conferences developed by fellow Trustee Kevin Lynch and former Managing Trustee, George Cooper.

Trustees' Dates of Service:

Donald N. Byers, QC, Managing Trustee - 1965 - 1993
Conrad F. Harrington, OC, LLD - 1965 - 1987
G. Arnold R. Hart - 1965 - 1981
Major General the Hon. E.C. ("Johnny") Plow - 1965 - 1983
Robert Wyman, CM, LLD - 1987 - 2007
John Matthews, LLD - 1981 - 2012
Ann McCaig, CM, AOE, LLD - 1993 - 2014
George T.H. Cooper, CM, QC, LLD - 1983 - 2017