Dr. Arthur McDonald, OC OOnt FRS FRSC

2015 Nobel Prize Co-Winner

2010 Killam Prize Winner

Dr. Arthur McDonald, Professor Emeritus at Queen’s University in Kingston, Ontario is the 2015 co-winner of the Nobel Prize in Physics with Japan’s Takaaki Kajita for their work in neutrinos — subatomic particles that comprise the fundamental building blocks of the universe.

Born in Nova Scotia, educated at Dalhousie and CalTech, Dr. McDonald’s career has had a profound impact on particle physics and has changed long-held perceptions of how matter actually works.

Dr. McDonald has received many well-deserved accolades throughout his career.  Among those have been honourary degrees from both Dalhousie University and the University of Alberta, as well as a Canada Council Killam Research Fellowship in 1998/99 and the Canada Council Killam Prize in Natural Sciences in 2010.  The official Nobel announcement can be found here.


Scroll to Top